Take this job….

Are you the same “you” to everyone, all the time?

K said something recently that got me to thinking.  She said most of us have multiple persona, acting one way around our parents, maybe another when we’re with our grandparents, and probably another way still at work.  You might not want to have an adult beverage in the presence of your teetotaler blue-haired great aunt, for example.  Some might call that hypocritical, but I prefer to think of it as just being sensitive to the various audiences you have to associate with.

I’m pretty much “what you see is what you get”…..except at work.  My extrovert-ism there is being sorely tested.  (Actually, I’m not an extrovert at all.)  At work I have to be all smiley to everyone, including management, when what I really want to do is tell ’em to go straight to ____.

Retirement can’t come soon enough.

S

~ by lowandslow1 on December 22, 2010.

4 Responses to “Take this job….”

  1. Very interesting post. As I’ve grown older I’m pretty much me around everyone but there are times where I have to reserve my ways to a different time.

  2. I’m also .. “what you see is what you get”! You’ve met me live so you know that I’m pretty much how I appear in my blog entries… at least I think so! lol

  3. I am who I am around everyone. The only thing I change is the vernacular I use when in the presence of children.

  4. There is about three of me.

Leave a Reply

 
