All we need now is a little snow

Every Christmas season our neighborhood developer goes all-out and decorates all the trees lining our main street and puts up a giant (artificial) Christmas tree on the plaza next to our little lake.   I think the city chips in some of the funding as it is advertised city-wide and is a giant event.  They close off streets, bring out musicians and clowns, let the kids crawl all over a big red fire truck, have kiddie train rides and a live reindeer, and all the local restaurants set up tents and give out samples of their cuisine.  It’s really quite a sight:

After dark they hit the switch and light everything up and Santa makes his appearance, officially starting the Season of Retail Cheer.  I took this shot later in the evening after most of the crowd had gone home:

Kinda pretty, don’t you think?  I always had a “bah humbug” attitude about all this sort of thing because it usually meant a lot of work for me….decorating around the house, that is.  But since we moved here and all this is done professionally and I don’t have to lift a finger, I’m rather enjoying it.

Aside from eating the last few left-overs, Thanksgiving is now over.  Our Christmas shopping is all done, and tonight K wrapped all the gifts.  It’s a good feeling.

S

~ by lowandslow1 on November 27, 2010.

5 Responses to “All we need now is a little snow”

  1. I love that night shot!

    All the Christmas markets are open here now. Last night I went with my daughter and her partner to two… yes two! Why? It was only 8:30 pm and half the little booths were already closed and no music was played! So after the first being a disappointment, we went to our local one… and same story! I#m sure the residents living near them complained too much.

    That’s really not the way to get into the Christmas spirit…. 😦

  2. You are so right – it is pretty. Glad someone is organised. !!

  3. I am looking forward to enjoying December versus running around like a crazy person!

  4. Nice to see you blogging again =)

  5. Hi Gwen! Great to be back. Please come visit me again, OK?

    S

Leave a comment